Michigan Concussion Law

Here is the link to the Michigan Sports Concussion Law: Michigan Sports Concussion Law

Michigan’s Sports Concussion Law: Compliance Checklist 

Effective June 30th, 2013

 

 

1.    Document and maintain receipt of educational materials by youth athletes and parents.

The organizing entity is responsible for obtaining a signed statement by each youth athlete and parent/guardian that acknowledges receipt of educational materials on concussions and their consequences.  Signed statements shall be maintained in a permanent file for the duration of the youth athlete’s participation in the athletic activity or until the youth athlete is 18 years of age.

 

2.    Immediately remove from play any youth athlete suspected of sustaining a concussion.

The coach or other adult employed by, volunteering for or acting on behalf of the organizing entity during an athletic event sponsored or operated by that entity shall immediately remove an athlete from physical participation who is suspected of sustaining a concussion during the athletic activity.

 

3.    An athletic activity means a program or event, including practice and competition, during which youth athletes participate or practice to participate in an organized athletic game or competition against another team, club, entity or individual.  Athletic activity includes participation in physical education classes that are part of a school curriculum.

 

4.    Before returning a youth athlete to play, obtain written clearance from an appropriate health professional.

The youth athlete suspected of sustaining a concussion is not allowed to return to any physical activity until they have been evaluated by an appropriate health professional and must receive written clearance from an appropriate health professional authorizing return to physical activity.

 

5.    The organizing entity shall maintain the Written Clearance to Return to Play Forms in a permanent file for the duration of the participation of the youth athlete in a physical activity or until the youth athlete is over 18 years of age.